Author Topic: Are Traditional Bows humane?  (Read 60257 times)

oxybowon

Are Traditional Bows humane?
« on: April 03, 2007, 11:05:51 pm »
Hi- I am totally new to bow hunting, actually I haven't even started yet. Many years ago I shot recurves while in Boy Scouts and I was a decent shot. I just really entered into hunting as a way of putting meat in the freezer and on the table only in the past several years. (Just wasn't raised to hunt.) So, I was totally psyched to find the magazine and this forum. I am looking at a few kits so that I can make my first bow. However, as I was telling my brother about this last night and how I felt this was more connected to hunting than using a compound and if I could harvest something using something I had created that would be mind blowing. He said it was cool, but he wondered whether it would be more likely to just injure a deer or turkey than kill it. I was taken back as I had not really considered it and it seems like a relevant question. I would shoot target until I felt completely confident in hitting with the intent to kill, but I don't want the animal to die in an inhumane manner. I need to feedback and suggestions. Thanks a ton, Mike

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: Are Traditional Bows humane?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2007, 11:29:43 pm »
Actually from the stats that I have read. Traditional bow hunters have a higher game recovery rate than even rifle hunters.  The pronghorn I shot went less than 30 yards before collapsing.  Lots of guys with compounds will shoot any distance, and rifles can be worse.  Traditional bow hunters usually know their limits and will not shoot beyond it.  I guess the point I should make is that the bow or any other weapon is humane. It is the shooter who makes a bad decision that USUALLY causes the problem.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2007, 12:03:19 am »