Author Topic: Not your typical Horn bow - Pictures for July BOTM  (Read 35829 times)

bowstick

Not your typical Horn bow - Pictures for July BOTM
« on: July 10, 2007, 12:19:18 am »
Hi all!  My name is Justin Steinmetz.  I've been making bows for about 8 years now.  Lately been getting into some fantasy style bows, but still functional without loosing performance. 

This particular bow was a first for me.  For me, and I'm sure other bowyers out there, once you get an idea in your head, it's there to stay until you make it a reality.  So this horn bow was a work in production for a little over a year.  With most of the time sitting there with me pondering what to do next.  Finally, after trial and error, the bow became functional.  Yet, it was still lacking something. 

I brought it to the Kalamazoo Show last year (unfinished) and it sparked a lot of interest.   Other vendors pulled the bow back and commented how smooth the pull was.  Then I Brought it to the west Windsor Renaissance show in NJ and it again sparked a lot of interest.  A character by the name of Dark Lord came up to me and wanted it for his costume.. but it was still UN-finished.  It only took me one look at his costume and I knew what the bow needed... Some giant horns near the handle! He was a first time archer and needed a bow to complete his character and this was the perfect one.     So we agreed on a price and I took it back to the bowshop and made some modifications.  A few weeks later, it was complete.  I was very excited to see him with it in costume, so we arranged a photoshoot in his backyard. 

Click here to vote for this bow for BOTM
http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,2983.0.html