Author Topic: Cane arrows  (Read 7247 times)

Offline Mike W

Cane arrows
« on: August 12, 2007, 10:35:48 pm »
I am in the process of making my first batch of cane arrows using tonkin cane. I have straightened them using heat, as well as filed down the nodes. I recently read an article in PA where an individual sanded down the outside of his cane arrows. It this something that should be done, or is it optional. If so, what are the pro's and con's to each.
Mike W
McKinney, TX

Offline david w.

Re: Cane arrows
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 11:49:47 pm »
if you get good at working tonkin cane  start makin flyrods from it :)
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2007, 12:01:39 am »
Hi Mike,
I'm not a real expert at cane/ bamboo shafting, ( yet) but I have made a few.  I've left them natural with the waxy skin left on ( pretty and a water resistant finish all by itself ) and some that I've sanded.  They seem to shoot well either way.  Currently I scrape/ sand all my bamboo and cane shafts to bring them to the same physical weight so I have matched sets for three D contests.  Matching physical weight also brings most shafts to roughly the same spine weight.  Sanded shafts need a finish if they will be used in the rain.
If your planning some hunting arrows, especially if your planning close shots, perfectly matched sets are probably less important to you, and not sanding would be easier.
Ron
"A man should make his own arrows."   Omaha proverb   

"There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves."    Will Rogers

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2007, 12:39:35 am »