Author Topic: First Bow Preparation and Some Questions  (Read 3308 times)

Offline Picklegiant

First Bow Preparation and Some Questions
« on: August 02, 2015, 10:29:18 pm »
Hi All,

I am just getting into bow making and after searching the web, I feel like I am ready to make a bow. I have two staves cut: a 54" Ocean Spray 3" diameter, and a 60" Maple. I am planning a 50" recurve hunting bow and a 6o" longbow. The only problem is I that the Ocean Spray was dead ish when I cut it, but the wood is still light yellow, I have included some photos for reference. When would it dry, and when will I know when it is seasoned. Would it be possible to use it not fully dry and dry it later, as I only have the summer to build it, but then time to dry it until mid deer deason. Another problem with the OS is that it has a crack running down the length, and since it is quite thin I am not wanting to split it as it would leave little material for my handle, would there be any way to include this crack, perhaps only in the handle, or work around it? The crack is not deep so it will not interfere with the limbs.

Also and comment on the maple stave would be appreciated ;D

Thanks for the help

http://imgur.com/C7m3giH
Photo 1 is the OS crack
http://imgur.com/JQjuRHr
Photo 2 is OS
http://imgur.com/4rL8KBV
Photo 3 is Maple
http://imgur.com/TJiO4Ur
Photo 3 is Mape gash, when felling the branch it split but i think it will be ok as a limb, will i need to seal the crack while drying

Offline DC

Re: First Bow Preparation and Some Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 12:28:23 am »
Buy a small kitchen scale that will measure in grams. Weigh the stave every few days. When it hasn't lost any weight for a few weeks it's ready to use. All you can do with the OS is follow the split and see what you get. You may have to make a bendy handle bow. I'm a little concerned about it being mostly dead. I don't think OS has much decay resistance.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator