Author Topic: center shot flat bow  (Read 15800 times)

Offline James Rodney

center shot flat bow
« on: October 05, 2015, 06:48:13 pm »
Before i start this, i want to say I've already asked a few different people about this and didn't exactly get the feed back that i was looking for. everyone keeps saying that center shot is a waste of time and not "primitive". but in all honesty, that's what i want. a Flat bow, with center shot. i'm just getting into this so my terminology might be a little off.  for starters, i need 30+ draw length, which puts me having to make a 68 in bow.. which is to big for what i want.  I want something shorter, with 50-60# draw @ 30+ inches.  what kind of wood should i use? should i forget making something Flat with center shot? i actually want to hunt with it.  I've tried compounds and hated it, couldn't ever get one with the draw for me. the picture i attached, i'd like to make something like that.. but i'm sure that's something waaayyy down the line for me. BUT i will do it. eventually. 
Slowly, i stalked her. Watching her every move. Silently moving in for the kill, only to find she was so perfectly tuned to nature i couldn't take the shot. My stomach was growling, yet i couldn't take the shot. My desire to see beauty overpowered my desire to eat.

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
Re: center shot flat bow
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 07:08:17 pm »
How tall are you? Why the need for a "Short" bow with a long draw? Why the need for center shot? I came from a compound world, and now prefer to shoot off my hand, not even a rest. What you like is what you like, and no one should fault you for that.

Get ready for an addiction, not many make just one.
If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got.
27 inch draw, right handed. Bow building and Knapping.

Offline James Rodney

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2015, 07:15:39 pm »