Author Topic: Bow Wood Type & Tree Size  (Read 9538 times)

Offline Travis

Bow Wood Type & Tree Size
« on: December 04, 2016, 03:26:44 pm »
Hello,

This is my first post here, but I've been a long time visitor of the site. I'm a newbie, but have built a few board bows about ten years ago. I recently got bit by the archery bug again and need some advice about tree species and wood selection. This past year I moved to a new area (central WI) so I'm still trying to familiarize myself with tree ID and the species in the area. I have about 7 areas of forest that primarily contains pine, what I think are red, white, bur oak, red maple, and a few other species I haven't been able to ID yet. Does anyone have any experience with these woods? I've seen a lot of red oak bows made, but not many from staves. What about red maple? I've used the search feature and found mixed results. I'd like to make a self bow that is hunting weight to start out with. Also, what is the ideal diameter to cut the trees down at? I believe the TBB says 7". Thank you in advance for your help!

Travis

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
Re: Bow Wood Type & Tree Size
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2016, 05:02:15 pm »
I can't deal with US timbers as I have no experience with them but as for diameter wood to cut, it depends on your access to machinery.  I have no access to chain-saws, big bench saws or large band-saws, so 7 or 8 inch is as big as I can go since that is about the maximum I can cleave into staves.  Also, once cleaved, there is very little wasted time or timber in shaping the stave with hand tools - too much timber to cut away by hand is an endurance test.  I often use trees of as little as 4" diameter but be aware that this size of sapling gives a stave with a very high crown

Offline 45-70 nut

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2016, 05:17:15 pm »