Author Topic: Bow handle  (Read 2195 times)

Offline feathersnwood

Bow handle
« on: April 12, 2017, 10:21:15 am »
Hey guys I've got a bendy handle bow I would like to shorten it a bit and glue a handle on it to make it a stiff handle .
It's Osage and 68" ntn  would like to go down to 64"I'm very new to this is it hard to do this ? Going to use either another piece of Osage or I have some African mahogany or something in that line can't remember the name for sure thanks in advance ! I have very few power tools will be mostly done by hand .
lets get back to the basics

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Bow handle
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2017, 10:34:02 am »
No, not really. If its already bending and you simply glue a handle on, it will pop off sooner than later. Use stacked up 1/4" thick cork rather. It will flex with the bow yet still give a full handle feel in your hand.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline High-Desert

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2017, 10:34:14 am »
If your handle is already bending and you glue on a handle, it will most likely pop off. If you shorten, you will have even more bend in the handle. You may want to just shorten it, then build up a handle with cork or leather. Maybe some other guys have some ideas for stiffening up a handle area.

Eric
Eric

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2017, 11:28:53 am »
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
What they said!
Steve Bennett

Offline bubby

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2017, 12:02:43 pm »
Like was said, an alternative to cork is leather or rawhide both will flex, leathe looks somewhat like wood grain when sanded and sealed
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline bubby

« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2017, 12:13:05 pm »