Author Topic: Friction fire help  (Read 13956 times)

Offline Jakesnyder

Friction fire help
« on: May 06, 2019, 06:38:14 am »
I am new to making friction fire and I keep burning through my hearth board. I'm using horse weed spindle and white pine hearth board. I get good smoke but before I can get an ember I've went the whole way through my hearth board. Am I putting to much pressure on it? It's almost 1/4 inch thick.

Offline Hawkdancer

Re: Friction fire help
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 09:43:04 am »
Jake,
Maybe try a harder hearth board, and some shavings/sawdust in the pit, but I am no expert on that method!  Seems like I saw some instructions on the web a while back.  Have to dig out. My Air Force survival manual and the Ranger Handbook!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline Outbackbob48

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2019, 11:57:08 am »
Jake, finesse not brute strength. :o First just go slow and easy all you are doing is warming up both spindle and hearth board, next watch your notch and build some sawdust, no dust no coal, after you have a good bit of black dust start increasing  speed and down pressure, now hit it twice with max speed and  you will see dust smoking on out side of pile. Stop and let coal build an catch your breath , no hurry coal will last a long time if you built up enough dust. Are using the hearth and spindle that I sent you. Either way you are almost there . I actually had shorter times on my fires when it was 4 deg. and low humidity. Built 4 or 5 fires Sat. and took just slightly a few more passes with wet warm higher humidity. Also got a coal with white pine hearth and giant goldenrod spindle. Horseweed still my favorite. Oh, I am 70 yrs. young so no more brute strength left here >:(. Just work on your technique and remember 3 elements of fire. Oxygen, fuel and heat.  Here is a pic of the 4 degree coal from Feb. Good Luck Bob

Offline aaron

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2019, 01:47:53 pm »