Author Topic: And Another Knot Question  (Read 3052 times)

Offline Piddler

And Another Knot Question
« on: December 08, 2019, 01:01:29 pm »
Guys I need some opinions and adult supervision on a knot in this stave I'm working. I am still new at this game and this is the first Knot of this type I have had to deal with. Also My first Osage to work. As you can see in the photo, I have the knot 1" above center. Originally had it at dead center but have moved center down 1". That explains all the lines because there two sets. The center line is marked with a circle for reference. There wasn't enough wood to go around it as the stave was undercut pretty steep on that side. The other side didn't seem to be optimal either. That's just how the stave was.  I planned on cutting an arrow shelf and figured that with the shelf most of the knot would be removed. Dimensions planned are 4" handle and 2" fades, 1 1/2" limb width and 1" handle section. The outer lines you see are 2" and the inner lines are the planned 1 1/2". The stave is pretty thin ringed is the reason I planned on 1 1/2". Opinions on width are welcome as well. I plan on around 50# draw weight. 
So question no 1 here would be would the shelf weaken it too much with this grain orientation or just don't cut a shelf. Or leave some extra wood on the outside.
Question 2, In moving the center down It also moved the fade down by 1". Does it appear that the fade in the upper section is ok with the grain or do I need something different there. Maybe add another inch to the handle or something. I would just as soon leave at the dimensions mentioned if possible. Hope the photos show up. They are not good quality so bear with me.
Thanks in advance
Piddler
"My goal in life is to try and be the kind of person my dog thinks I am"

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
Re: And Another Knot Question
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 01:37:02 pm »