Author Topic: Hello from Muskoka, Canada: Total Newb  (Read 4094 times)

Offline 5up3rm4n

Hello from Muskoka, Canada: Total Newb
« on: February 19, 2020, 09:04:48 pm »
Hello all...I've been looking at all your posts and finally decided to register and just got my approval. I am a COMPLETE newbie to bow making but I feel i have a base understanding of the craft. I just harvested an HHB sapling with a base diameter of 2.5". I know, it may be too narrow but after counting its tightly compressed rings, its 20 years old. Should i leave it alone and use it as a walking stick, or take a chance on turning it into my first bow? It does have a few knots but i believe I could pull off a "training blank" from it.
Anyway, hello from the North :)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Hello from Muskoka, Canada: Total Newb
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2020, 09:42:51 pm »
Welcome to PA.  2.5" HHB could make a hunting weight bow(45#+). You should at least split or saw it in half lengthwise and seal the ends. Sometimes, a stave that small will draw up in reflex and twist as it dries. What I do, I usually saw a pole this size in half lengthwise, bind the 2 halves back together with spacers between for good air circulation and set them aside to dry.
 Good luck with your first attempt and don't forget to ask questions and post pics of your process or problems.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline 5up3rm4n

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2020, 09:47:50 pm »
Thanks! will do! ;D its 62.5" long. i will post a pic.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2020, 09:54:00 pm by 5up3rm4n »

Offline 5up3rm4n

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2020, 10:05:13 pm »
Here is the stave. I harvested it yesterday afternoon. i brought it indoors to dry. Any suggestions, i am wide open. I will split it tomorrow.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2020, 07:08:12 am »
I'm gonna move this to "BOWS" so you will get more input.