Author Topic: Crepe Myrtle Bow  (Read 2312 times)

Offline BeePrimitive

Crepe Myrtle Bow
« on: April 06, 2020, 07:25:13 am »
Hello! Thank you all for letting me be a part of this forum!

I tried to build a bow for my brother this past Christmas and got it almost to where he wanted it but it broke. I am a total noob and didn’t pay attention to the grain of the red oak board I got from HD.

Anyway, it’s a new year and I am at home with a back injury and thought it would be nice to start on a new bow. My brother and I cut 5 straightish Crepe Myrtles and we are wondering how long to let them dry? I will post pics of a couple of the staves that I stripped yesterday!

Thank you!

Kenly

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Crepe Myrtle Bow
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 07:32:16 am »
Well..that's a tricky question,.and can vary depending on results desired..from quick survival bow...to well cured stave bow,.up to u

Offline BeePrimitive

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2020, 09:32:11 am »
Thank you for your response! I want this to last. I also want to hunt with something homemade this year. Maybe I should do one fully cured and a survival bow.

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2020, 09:47:16 am »
Crepe myrtle is pretty hard stuff.The harder the longer usually.That also depends on how thick your piece is your wanting dry or to 9% or so.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline BeePrimitive

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2020, 10:21:59 am »
One of them is not very straight so I am not sure what can be done about that. The other one is fairly straight and has a wonderful bend in the center that feels really good! I might use that as my handle!
I’m trying to upload the pictures but it’s taking forever!

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2020, 10:30:06 am »