Author Topic: How to learn to hunt with a selfbow?  (Read 13613 times)

Offline Fox

How to learn to hunt with a selfbow?
« on: May 29, 2020, 01:09:02 pm »
I want to start bow hunting , i have been shooting bows consistently for 3 years.. And hunt with a rifle ... but i am young and go with more experienced hunters... but i don't have any bow hunters around to go with... should i wait till i am more expereinced and just go by myself?  Ideas? Thanks

-Fox
« Last Edit: September 09, 2020, 07:17:18 am by Fox »
Why must we make simple things so complicated?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: How to learn to hunt with a selfbow?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2020, 01:56:44 pm »
If you can find someone to go with that would be better, safer but if not go by yourself. It may take you a while before you figure it out but you'll never kill a deer(or whatever) unless you go hunting. If you are a stand hunter place your stand near a game trail(about 10 to 15 yds off) with plenty of cover and stay alert. With a rifle you probably hunt open areas. With a bow you need to be close, let the deer get close and all along concentrate on where the arrow will go and take your first shot opportunity. If you can see a deer's eyes he will see you, if you move, he will see you so wait til everything is in your favor and the deer is where you can put the arrow through the boiler room. Study a deer's anatomy so you'll know where to put the arrow. Be sure the deer is calm too. An alert deer is faster than your arrow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline StickMark

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2020, 08:57:25 pm »
Beginner's luck is real. Be ready on Day One, Hour One.

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2020, 12:51:27 am »