Author Topic: Yew short bow advice  (Read 1136 times)

Offline Maxwelliuston

Yew short bow advice
« on: November 12, 2021, 09:35:50 pm »
Seeking sage advice from people who know much more than I do

I've got this 3 year old yew. 56" long, 4"ish wide, weird character on the end, a few knots here and there. What are my best options here? Impulsively, I want to make a short heavy pig of a recurved flat bow with 2" limbs and a non bending handle. Realistically and unfortunately, I'm not sure that would be the best use of the wood. Would I be better off trying to split/saw 2 short elbs out of here? I've never done that design before. The character on the one end is throwing my for a loop as well. If I were to go the flat bow route, how would that area be best addressed?

I'm open to ideas, not married to anything right now. I just want to do what's best fitted for this piece. Also, it's my first time working yew.

Thanks!

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
Re: Yew short bow advice
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2021, 11:22:01 pm »
Ripping it down the middle is a good idea, and taking one yew billet and turning it into 2 is something I do a lot. If you wanted to to a shorty recurve, a few layers of sinew would do you some good to add some flexibility.
Either way, have fun with it.

Bryce
Clatskanie, Oregon

Offline Hamish

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2021, 11:32:40 pm »
 The crown looks too high for 1 short wide bow.

Personally I would bandsaw it down the middle, and get 2, 2" wide staves. .

Your options then would be make a full length bow with the joined billets, or

2 short bows of various designs up to 1.75 inches wide.

How experienced are you at bowmaking? What sort of bow would you like to make, eg flatbow, with x"s draw length etc?

If you haven't made many bows already, I would wait a while before tackling any yew stave.

Offline Gimlis Ghost

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2021, 12:23:14 am »