Author Topic: Tiller. Split vs 3 under.  (Read 1358 times)

Offline Bill B.

Tiller. Split vs 3 under.
« on: February 03, 2024, 10:39:46 am »
Alex C. Started an excellent thread to explain the geometry of tiller and now I have more questions.

3 under.
 It’s been my understanding that the bow should be tillered even. In my mind this makes sense because the fulcrum (string fingers) are now closer to center evening the levers (string to limb tips). But I’ve noticed the 3under shooters set a high nocking point which increases the lever length to the bottom limb again. This seams counter productive to me. What am I missing here? Trying to help a friend but I have no experience with 3 under. Other than shortening the point on distance, are there any advantages to 3 under?

Split finger.
I tiller using the mass principle and the back profile of the limbs. About an inch or 2 before hitting my draw length I start checking limb timing in my hands. With a relaxed bow hand I can feel the stronger limb tipping towards me. A few scrapes will usually get the bow to sit straight in my hand to full draw. This produces 1/8” - 3/16” positive tiller. Set ends up around 1.25” - 1.5”.
Bows are well mannered and of average speed. I’d like to reduce the set some and hopefully pick up a little performance. Any and all input is appreciated.

Sorry for being long winded. Posting is rare for me so I thought I’d put both questions out here.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: Tiller. Split vs 3 under.
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2024, 11:30:10 am »
My view is that on the tiller, the bow should be supported where the hand will support it (and allowed to rock). The string should be pulled from where the fingers will draw it. This will look odd as the draw starts, because the bow will tilt, but that is exactly what happens in the hand.
IMO it is a mistake to support dead centre and draw from dead centre as it doesn't accurately simulate real usage.
Del