Author Topic: Anyone getting ready for deer season?  (Read 14683 times)

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
Anyone getting ready for deer season?
« on: July 30, 2008, 10:35:58 am »
Its only the end of July and I'm already looking forward to the first Saturday in October. The opening day of archery season here. What are y'all doing to prepare for opening day?  I'm getting some river cane shafts straightend and spined.....and I finally broke down and bought one of those digital scouting camera's yesterday. Can't wait to put it out and see what kind of game is in my hunting area's this year ! My buddy is making me some obsidian points for hunting this year. Thats going to be a first for me. I've been hunting with a selfbow for about 5 or 6 years now, but up until now, I've always used store boughten steel broad heads. Any one have any tips for practicing with obsidian points so I dont brake them? I have one of those large soft foam targets like Pappy has on his practice range. You think its safe to shoot them into it until I get the arrows flying well?
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Offline madcrow

• Swift, Silent, and covered in wood shavings.
Re: Anyone getting ready for deer season?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 11:20:42 am »
I have everything already.  I just sit around and watch a Bambi DVD. ;D

Offline Keenan

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 11:26:29 am »
 Ryan, I shoot obsidian tips alot and what I've found works well is the walmart styrofoam blocks. You can pick them up for about $15. They don't last for more then a season but for dialing in the stone points they are great. The only points I've broke has been from hitting the other arrows.
 Hunting season here starts the last weak of august so we are getting close. Trying to get some more points finished up and doing lots of scouting ;D There is still snow in some of my favorite spots this year, ::)

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer