Author Topic: Sinew Backed, Double Curve Bow  (Read 92474 times)

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
Sinew Backed, Double Curve Bow
« on: September 22, 2008, 11:56:40 pm »
This is my first build-a-long.....and my hope is that it will spark a discussion on how to produce a replica plains bow with the best possible performance.

The wood I will be using is juniper....not because juniper is awesome.....but because it is what I have available right now.  The wood has already been chosen, cut down, shaped, and seasoned.  What's left is the application of sinew, making a bowstring, final tillering, painting, finishing, and shooting to test performance.

Many of you guys have already built double curve bows and it seems a lot of people have one.  The one thing missing, though, is how to get one to perform well without turning it into a wide-limbed, narrow tipped, long, non-bendy handle, laminated monstrosity with an arrow shelf cut in the side (yuck) and fast-flight string.  I've looked high and low and there are few references on how to build a reproduction of one of these.....far fewer than the databases on how to build a traditional ELB, for example.

Ok, enough introduction, the first step is choosing the right wood.  The wood must, first and foremost, be very flexible.  The MOE and Work to Maximum Load (WML) must be higher than average....with ash wood being the average.  It must be easy to bend with heat and or steam.  It must have been available to NA's.  And the wood has to be able to withstand the strain imposed by the dimensions of the originals.