Author Topic: dry heat making bows stronger  (Read 3411 times)

Offline wodpow

dry heat making bows stronger
« on: December 03, 2009, 02:53:00 am »
Is it normal for bows to get stronger when the wood is subjected to the dry heat  of a gas furnace  in the winter or is it just me ?

Kirkll

Re: dry heat making bows stronger
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 03:09:02 am »
i have zero experience with self bows, or even board bows, but.... when the moisture content in a piece of wood goes down significantly, it looses elasticity, and i would think it  definitely would raise the poundage on a bow... unfortunately it makes the wood more brittle, and depending on species...it could easily fail in compression or tension depending on the weakest point.

Kirk

Offline Badger

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 04:23:11 am »
Getting a bow too dry is a recipe for failure. I like to try and keep my bows around 8% mc. Every point in oisture makes a difference in the stiffness on the bow. Most woods will get stronger in compression but if they get too dry they get weaker in tension, this usually happens below 6% moisture. As far as I am concerned trying to mangae the moisture in a bow can be kind of a pain. If posible select a wood that works best in your own climate. Dry climates favor woods like hickory, elm, hornbeam, moister climates locust or osage or some of the exotics. Maple seems to work well for me in my climate here in so cal, maintains about 8% to 9% mc.

Offline makenzie71

• I can robin hood an arrow if I hit it just right.
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 12:13:50 pm »
I would think getting a bow to the proper dimensions and pull, then sealing it properly, would keep it happy where ever you go.
Goodbye, friends. I never thought I'd die like this. But I always really hoped. ~ Fry

Offline artcher1

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2009, 01:16:28 pm »