Author Topic: Discussion Of Burlington Chert  (Read 10799 times)

Ahnlaashock

Discussion Of Burlington Chert
« on: January 03, 2014, 05:28:00 am »
I am a beginner, even tho I am an experienced lapidary.  I started trying to learn how to make simple tools, the way they did, from available local resources.  I knew there was a local chert in sizable pieces, and that has since been identified as Burlington. 
Everyone says Burlington, like it means one thing.  Well, that isn't how it is here.  I have brown grainy material, all the way to agate like translucent material.  Heck, I even have a piece with a barber pole swirl.  I have several grades of Burlington, that do not require any kind of treatment to knap well and easily.   The best is almost as easy to work as good true flint, and only obsidian has been easier to work for me. 
I can post photos of the various grades I have so far encountered, if needed.