Author Topic: My 1st bow--Critique & Advice Please & Knots  (Read 14227 times)

Offline RedBear1313

My 1st bow--Critique & Advice Please & Knots
« on: May 02, 2014, 04:10:29 pm »
OK guys, this is my first attempt at a bow here, so I'm gonna be asking some questions.
I've got several osage staves and have been working down the rings on  a few of them, I figured I'd work em all down to one ring so I could save the very best ones for after I've gained a little experience building a few bows, using the not so great ones first.

This stave has only one knot in it and I attempted to work around the best I could. Study the pics and you'll see that it's not too large, but has that black punky center.  I think I'll go ahead and use this one for my first since it has the knot in it.
(a couple of the staves are completely knot free)

How well did I do working around the knot? and is it bad enough that it's going to need special treatment?

I was thinking about backing it with sinew for insurance since it's my first attempt.
Oh yeah, it's shiny because after I was done chasing down the ring I rubbed it with oil before I'm going to put some polyurethane on it while it continues to season.

« Last Edit: May 06, 2014, 10:27:40 am by RedBear1313 »
Hold on to what you can't remember, make sense of what you can't decipher.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: My 1st bow--Critique & Advice Please & Knots
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 04:12:05 pm »
Looks better than my work. If its wide enough, Id go right around that knot in the layout. Don't sinew back your bow for security. Sinew back it because its a design that requires it. Sinew is too heavy for insurance only.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 04:40:16 pm by PEARL DRUMS »
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline RedBear1313

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2014, 04:42:25 pm »