Author Topic: small diameter osage  (Read 10305 times)

Offline rkeltner

small diameter osage
« on: January 22, 2008, 04:34:10 am »
i recently got to cut some osage at my hunting grounds, and one of the pieces is a small diameter(about 2" after removing bark and sapwood). the question that comes up now that working this piece, sould i decrown or should i make this a flatbow? i'm still a novice with a lot to learn, but i;ve been farely successful so far. this is #9, i think(can't remember the broken ones!)

duffontap

Re: small diameter osage
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 04:47:33 am »
I would rather have a solid ring than a flat back.  I would leave the back crowned and the belly slightly flatter.  Just my preference derived from science and superstition. 

J. D.

330bull

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2008, 01:11:38 pm »
I do know that John Strunk made a sapling flatbow from Osage earlier this spring and hunted for elk with it last fall ('07).  He even left the sapwood on and didn't even back it.  The belly was totally flat and man oh man it was not only gorgeous and unique looking, but it was a flat out smoking fast bow.  The sapling could not have been any more than 2" in diameter.  I have held that bow, and oh how I would love to have one for myself!   :'(

Having said all of that, don't forget that this is John Strunk we're talking about here.  That guy could practically make a bow from any piece of wood on the planet, and he has more patience when making bows than anyone I've ever seen.  Seriously, glaciers make more moves in a day than John when it comes to crafting bows.   :D  That's why all of his are works of art.

Lastly, JD comes from the same mold as John, so I would also trust his advice just as much.  Did you see his thread entitled something like "The are you fricking kidding me this is the most ridiculously crazy and perfect crabapple character selfbow on the planet".  If you did, you know that "JD's got some mad skillz yo!".