Author Topic: Back with a vengeance - and a few general questions  (Read 4920 times)

Offline Andrea S

Back with a vengeance - and a few general questions
« on: February 28, 2015, 04:52:26 pm »
Hey everybody! It's been a few years since I've posted to these forums, but my traditional bow spirit was merely dormant, not gone.

In the years since Walt helped me build my little Osage shortbow, I graduated college and started dating a guy who is a compound bow and rifle hunter. I was pretty much a lost cause from the moment he fed me bacon-wrapped antelope backstrap - it was only a matter of time before I started hunting with him. As someone who loves to cook, going into the field to acquire meat is just as natural and sensible to me as gardening for my vegetables, and I'm lucky enough to live in Montana where my choices to spot-and-spook include black bear, mule deer, whitetail deer, elk, antelope, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, and my arch-nemesis, the cottontail rabbit that lives in my neighbor's hedgerow.

After a successful fall with the rifle last year (antelope and a young mule deer buck), I'm looking to get back into traditional archery for hunting, for a few key reasons:

- I learned volumes upon volumes more about game animal behavior and hunting technique while following my boyfriend on stalks during archery season than I did during rifle season. Bow season is for learning animals, rifle season is for avoiding people. Even if I don't poke any critters, I know I will learn a ton.

- I have no romance with or interest in compound bows, but the stick and string is still magic to me.

- Hunting opportunities and hunting pressure are much more optimal during archery-only season, the highlights of which include elk hunting the rut, and the 900 series antelope tag that allows a bowhunter to hunt any region or district for antelope in the state.