Author Topic: Video of limb failure. . . confirmation of tiller error please?  (Read 4168 times)

Offline Rākau

• Aotearoa-the land of the long white cloud
Hi guys. . .  (--)

So I managed to break my 2nd bow of the week, , , was looking at 68" ntn with 55# at 30" flatbow design following dimensions from one of Clay Hayes' video's on Youtube. On the tiller tree it looked pretty good to my eye, so I sanded her up etc took it to the range and put 8 arra's through her no worries (couldn't do any more as it was dark by then) took it home and waterproofed her with a boiled linseed/beeswax/turps conditioner i made a while ago. while doing this i decided to do a light 10 minute heat treat on the belly, just because I'm a newbie and I hear that's what people do and I liked the colour it bought up in a previous bow (that also broke due to poor tiller) haha. Anyway, silly me didn't re-check tiller, but i wanted a video of bow at full draw so. . .
(very short video)

https://youtu.be/O1CzHyhjfcs

so you guessed it, crack!

Now upon review of the video it seems blaring obvious that the lower limb was far to weak and it snapped right on a potential hinge point... so I should always re-check tiller after heat treat? (seems obvious upon reflection)

But also to note is that my other Kanuka bow snapped in much the same way (albeit in a far less utterly complete and dramatic fashion) in that the belly of the bow held up to the snap so well that there is not a single visible sign of stress. Is this an indication that kanuka is stronger in compression than in tension and maybe I should avoid heat treat, or can the blame be placed fair and square on my well below average tillering ability?

Anyway, I really appreciate the pointers that I have been given so far, time to rough out some more staves and get em drying behind the fire place for the next round of attempts!

Zach

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows